Everything You Need to Know About Ayurvedic Chakras

ayurvedic chakras

When you say Chakra, it often translates into an energy center in the Western world. But according to Sanskrit, it is not significantly related to the word “energy.” This article will discuss everything you need to know about the ayurvedic chakras and the proper term. Contents and terms are from Mr. Rajiv Malhotra’s video titled Chakra with Mr. Satanarayana Dasa Babaji. So sit tight and read on!

The word Chakra has entered the Western lexicon. Some Westerners popularize the meditation techniques because they studied theoretically through a book. They were devoid of expert guidance from a master, terms like Chakra and Kundalini don’t have precise translations. Unresolved, they made a U-turn. The term is not well understood in the English-speaking world. Even those who practice it as a technique are in the dark. They do not know that, they cannot separate it from the rest of the dharmic framework (also, few connect it to Christianity).


Our whole Vedic culture and philosophy are based on understanding this source of consciousness. The study of Vedas, nisrats, agamas and all literature is a process of investigation concerning ‘Consciousness’. As we are aware, our physiology does not reflect inherent consciousness; if you inject the hand with anesthesia, the whole body will turn numb. Now, though the body is inactive, all vital functions are governed by a mysterious element that western scientific analyses are yet to cognize. This mysterious element is recognized as ‘eternal consciousness’ by sanathana dharma & its adjunct ayurveda : the essential pathway to execute life.

So we understand from our Vedic literature and our research that consciousness flows from the Atma, which is a part of Paramatma. Atma is the source of consciousness. Now, when we study Atma and Prakriti philosophy, which is an important part of the knowledge system; these two are opposite values, because Prakriti undergoes modifications, while Atma is immutable: it has no beginning, no end, no death, and no birth.

So how do these two things interact with each other?

Human beings are a combination of Prakriti and Purusha. Atma (or Purusha in Sankyha terminology) is untouched by anything – material. For example, if a magnet is brought into proximity of iron filings, they will start to move under the influence of its field. Similarly, you can say that Atma has a field of consciousness and that consciousness affects matter.

Our body is made up of 24 Tatwas, according to Sankhya shashtra. If you say 2 plus 4 is six, there are six chakras in the body. So Chakras are the seats of loci through which consciousness of Atma radiates into the human physical system. Specifically, the Chakras signify the points through which the consciousness manifests. Also, we may proclaim that the Atma itself has its own “I” consciousness, because Atma is a living being. The Prakriti supplies the predicate, and that “I” is reflected in this body. Consciousness manifests at different levels,  6 Chakras are the rungs of existence. The total levels are 14, but six prime levels begin from the Muladhara Chakra in our human body. Specifically, there are seven Chakras representing the 7 physiological organs. Seventh chakra represents the pituitary gland. This 7th chakra is the center through which the consciousness is plugged into.

The Chakras

  1. Sahasrara– the 7th Chakra – cosmic, consciousness interior piece
  2. Ajna– 6th Chakra Aum- Jnana Yoga- Recognizing and accepting destiny. Confidence in one’s intuition
  3. Vishuddha- 5th Chakra ham ether- Mantra Yoga- the transformation of energy through words and images.
  4. Anahata– 4th Chakra Yam Air- Bhakti Yoga – love vitality being one with nature
  5. Manipura– 3rd Chakra Ram Fire- Hatha, Karma, and Raja Yoga- Firmness and organizational talent
  6. Swadhisthana – 2nd Chakra Vam Water- Tantra Yoga- ease relationship, pleasure in physical contact
  7. Muladhara– 1st Chakra Lam Earth- Hatha and Kundalini Yoga- Vitality stability and strength

Evolution of Consciousness

Inherently, where one’s consciousness is plug into, manifests your actions in this material world. So the whole idea of saying that you have to raise your Kundalini, which represents Ahankara, means you have to take your “I” consciousness from the Muladhara chakra, raise the “i” consciousness (Kundalini Shakti) to the Sahasrara Chakra.

Also, ayurveda exemplifies the existence of  “sukshma sharira”. The gross body is a manifestation from the subtle. In addition, the gross body is a solidification of past karma. They are all interlinked. Karma is an action that I have performed because of my will, and then, will is because of my awareness or my consciousness. This sukshama sharira (the subtle body) cannot act in the gross world, so one needs a physical body.

Chakras in Sukshma Sharira

  • Shahasra- Crown
  • Ajna- Third Eye
  • Vishuddha- Throat
  • Anahata- Heart
  • Manipura- Solar Plex
  • Swadhistana- Sacral
  • Muladhara- Root

Pancha Maha Bhutas

Pancha mahabhuta is a Sanskrit phrase that means “five great elements.” It refers to the five components that are suppose to be present in everything in the world, including the human body:

  • Akash
  • Vayu
  • Agni
  • Apa(water)
  • Prithvi

Representation of Some Chakras

Energy Center is not a proper translation of the Chakras because Chakras are not just energy centers, but they are related to consciousness. At the same time, you can associate energy with the ability to work. Chakras have petals, and every petal represents one letter, and every letter has a particular potency. So then there are mantras related to that. And then mantras are related to uplifting your consciousness.

Each Chakra can represent as a lotus flower with several petals. Each petal in a Chakra represents a sound vibration in the form of a Sanskrit syllable. Furthermore, the total of all the syllable sounds in the petals of a Chakra is the mantra of that Chakra. So the Chakra is a consciousness center rather than an energy center.

Elevation of Consciousness

The 14 Lokas are also related to 14 levels of consciousness. So we have 14 Chakras in the body: seven lower and seven above.

14 Lokas

  1. Satyaloka
  2. Tapoloka
  3. Janoloka
  4. Maharloka
  5. Svargaloka
  6. Bhuvarloka
  7. Bhuloka (Human World)
  8. Atala
  9. Vitala
  10. Sutala
  11. Talatala
  12. Mahatala
  13. Rasatala
  14. Patala

The chakras are in the body, while the lokas are in the microcosmos. The different Chakras in our body correspond to varying Lokas in the cosmos. One of the fascinating points of the Ayurveda system is that everything has a personality behind it. And this is very much misunderstood by Western scholars and Indians also. Because Ayurveda worships the rivers, mountains, trees, etc., because they have a personality too. So the universe is also a person that is called Virata Purusa. As we have a physical body, the universe is his body.

How something is connected with something else that, at first sight, it looks unrelated is the profoundness of the Ayurvedic system. Everything is associated with each other. If you want to know more about Ayurveda, subscribe to Organic Ayurveda Life. Thank you very much for reading! If you have comments and suggestions, write them down below.

Source: Chakra ≠ Energy Center | Sanskrit Non-Translatable

Scroll to Top