The Branches of Ayurveda

The understanding of Ayurveda for the people has been evolving with time. With the advancements in science and technology, people are becoming more aware of their health than ever before. This has led to an increased interest in Ayurveda and its branches, such as yoga and naturopathy.

Ayurvedic practitioners have found new ways to introduce this ancient practice to modern-day people by using modern-day technologies such as social media and apps like Fitbit. But now, we are going through the roots of the branches of Ayurveda. Read on!

Ayurveda has eight branches:

1. Kaaya Chikitsa (Internal Medicine)

The internal medicine of Ayurveda is called Kaaya Chikitsa. This branch focuses on treating the whole body and not just the symptoms. It is a holistic approach to health and wellness which considers all aspects of an individual’s life. Kaaya Chikitsa has been practiced for thousands of years in India. It’s believed that it originated from one of India’s most ancient texts, Charak Samhita, which was written by Charaka, a great physician and surgeon in old India.

Kaaya Chikitsa uses herbs, massage therapy, and diet to treat patients suffering from various ailments such as arthritis or diabetes. Many people who have been healed of afflictions through Kaaya Chikitsa are now students of the system and spread its teachings. Kaaya Chikitsa’s practitioners vary from Ayurvedic physicians and chiropractors to physiotherapists and yoga and meditation teachers. It encompasses numerous disciplines, including natural healing, mind-body medicine, and energy medicine. The system follows the premise that all diseases arise from stress or imbalance in the body. It addresses these imbalances rather than just treating illness or disease.

2. Baala Chikitsa (Treatment of Children / Pediatrics)

Baala Chikitsa is the treatment of children and a branch of Ayurveda. It is a holistic approach to health care for children. Baala Chikitsa is one of the six branches of Ayurveda, and it focuses on treating children from the cradle to the grave. Baala Chikitsa practitioners believe that the physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual aspects are all connected.

They also think that the patient’s physical condition impacts their mental state and vice versa. A Baala Chikitsa practitioner will work with the parents to establish a rapport with their child before starting any treatment. They will also work with other professionals to treat any underlying conditions that may be causing problems in their lives, such as malnutrition, developmental delays, or chronic illness.

Ayurveda is a system of traditional medicine that uses herbal and plant-based treatments for overall health. The main text for Ayurvedic practice is the “Sushruta Samhita,” which contains descriptions of Ayurvedic practice and its techniques. Masala Chikitsa is the treatment of adults who have mental health disorders. 

It is the traditional treatment for schizophrenia, depression, alcoholism, and other psychological diseases. The primary goal of Baala Chikitsa is to treat a person as a whole being, not just the mind or body. They believe that each part of us relates to the other parts, and when one part is treated, it affects all other factors in the body.

3. Graha Chikitsa (Demonology / Psychology)

Graha Chikitsa is the Ayurvedic psychic area dealing with mental ailments and diseases with psychosomatic roots. Psychosomatic disorders have no apparent symptoms but are caused by mental health problems. 

This field discusses herbs, their uses as disinfectants, and their ability to bring positivity to the environment. Specifically, herbs, food, mantras, pranayama (breathing techniques), meditation, and yogic therapies are discussed in this book for mind healing.

4. Urdhvaanga Chikitsa (Treatment of disease above the clavicle)

Urdhvaanga Chikitsa is an Indian medical treatment that has been practiced since ancient times. It is said to be the original form of chiropractic care. Urdhvaanga Chikitsa has been used to treat various diseases, including asthma, arthritis, back pain, and muscle spasms. It has also been used to enhance longevity and improve immunity. It uses herbs, massage, and other therapies to treat diseases like cancer. Furthermore, Urdhvaanga Chikitsa has been used for thousands of years in India. It was initially named Urdhvangasthana and practiced by the royal family in India.

5. Shalya Chikitsa (Surgery)

Shalya Chikitsa is a traditional Ayurvedic medical healing practice that is still practiced in India. It is a type of surgery that uses herbs and other natural ingredients to heal various ailments.

It was developed by the great physician Shalya Bharadwaja, known for his expertise in treating patients with tumors, ulcers, and other severe health conditions. Indeed it can be used as a complementary therapy or stand-alone treatment for several diseases and disorders.

Did you know that it has been incorporated into modern medicine by doctors familiar with Ayurvedic healing practices. They use it to treat many different conditions such as blood pressure, asthma, and chronic pain without any side effects or risks of complications.

6. Damstra Chikitsa (Toxicology)

Damstra Chikitsa is a traditional Indian medicine that deals with toxicology and the treatment of poisoning. It is a unique Ayurvedic system of healing that uses herbs, natural materials, and minerals to treat the body. It has been used to treat diseases such as snakebite, scorpion stings, and even poison from an enemy’s arrow. However, this type of treatment is not available in many places nowadays because it requires plants that are not easily accessible in modern times.

7. Jara Chikitsa (Geriatrics, Rejuvenation)

The Jara Chikitsa is a traditional Ayurvedic medicinal treatment for the elderly that focuses on rejuvenating and restoring health. It is conducted in the form of herbal baths and massages to promote healing in the body, mind, and spirit. So the process can take anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months, depending on individual needs.

8. Varsha Chikitsa (Aphrodisiac therapy)

This branch is concerned with improving men’s and women’s sexual health and fertility. It focuses on reproductive and genetic organs’ health and disorders. It is a branch of medicine that deals with sex, virility, potency, strength, excitability, procedures, regimens, diets, herbal medications, and therapies for sexual dysfunctions, infertility, premature ejaculation, and erectile dysfunction.

In conclusion, Ayurveda is a holistic and natural system of healing that is based on the principles of nature. It has been in existence for over 3,000 years and has been used to heal people from all walks of life. If you want to learn more about the world of Ayurveda, subscribe to Organic Ayurveda Life!

Scroll to Top