Agni: The Vital Fire in Ayurveda

Agni is the vital fire in Ayurveda. It is responsible for digestion, metabolism and all other bodily functions. Agni is considered to be the most important dhatu, or tissue, in the body. In this blog post, we will discuss Agni in detail and learn how to keep it healthy and balanced! Special thanks to Dr. Sumit Kesarkar and National Library of Ayurveda Medicine (NLAM), The concepts and theory are based on their videos and writings. Read on! 

What is Agni?

According to Brahmasutra, Agni is depicted as a sign of life in the body. “A” represented by the alphabet A denotes root “I”, meaning to go. “G” represented by the alphabet G denotes the root ‘anja’, which means to glitter or root ‘daha’ which means to burn. Lastly, “Ni” means to carry. Based on Sankacharya, Agni carries everything in it. It moves everywhere and metamorphoses substances, burns, assimilates, transforms and glitters. 

Agni is the first word of the first hymn of Rigveda; the oldest surviving treatise. Western scholars of Indology say it derived from the Proto-Indo European root ‘h,egni’ similar to the Latin root ‘ignis’ which means fire. However, on scan of available literature Agni cannot be completely correlated with Fire.

Fire is a form of Agni but Agni is not fire. Agni in brief can be understood as an entity which depicts transformation at all levels of cosmic manifestations. For example, a child grows to a man, as food transforms into blood so at every understood level of transformation Agni can be interpreted. Through its multitude forms it is predominantly related with Fire. ‘

Henna Hair Regimen Bundles.

Agni in Vedas

Agni in the Vedas is represented in the pictorial forms as having two faces, seven arms, three legs and riding a ram. It is also said that Agni has dark eyes and three bodies. The omnipresence of Agni is described through the Puranas in all manifestations: sage among all divinest of sages, immortal with its abode amongst mortals, director, protector and accomplisher of all ceremonies, messenger between heaven and earth, etc.

It is also found in a crematorium where it assumes the form of Kravyad; a flesh eating demon. Agni itself is a Kravyad, and as such takes an entirely different character. He is then represented under a form as hideous as the beings he, in common with the other gods, is called upon to devour. 

Origin of Agni

It is said that Agni is the son of Dayus and Prithvi. He is described as the son of Angiras, the king of the Pitris or fathers of mankind. He is also called the son of Brahma and is then named Abhimani. And at the command of Bhrigu, he was first brought down to earth for humans by a wind god “Matarisvan”. He is considered the Lokpal or controller of the SouthEast quarter of earth.

In Shabdakalpa-druma, 61 synonyms of Agni have been compiled. These synonyms help in explaining the nature and functions of the Agni. It has many names; those more generally known as Vahni, Dhananjaya, Jivalana, Dhumketu, Saptajihva.

Types of Agni

  1. Uttama or Aavaahneeya Agni- The heavenly Agni appears as Soorya or the sun.
  2. Madhyama or Dakshinaagni- The intermediate one, atmospheric Agni which appears as lightning or thunderbolt.
  3. Parthiva- The one situated on this Earth. This again divided as Vaidik, it is kindled for rituals or sacrificial fire. Gaarhapatya, the earthly agni appears at worship, for cooking and digests the food inside the body of living beings.

Agni is perceived as one of the Panchamahabhuta. In brief it’s one of the five elements along with other 4 elements of Aakash, Vayu, Aapah and Prithvi. The Agni element is perceived as the transformation and as heat in the form of fire. It is described as heat producing, dry, penetrating, clear/pure and microscopic. All Mahabhutas are derived from the previous one and carry their properties.

Ammu Beauty

Agni in Human Body

In the Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna says that “I am the fire of digestion in all living entities by Prana, Apana, and Saman. I digest four food types: Bhaksya, Bhojya, Lehya and Chosya.” Specifically, there’s a definitive reference of Agni in Ayurveda texts as Rupantaren Agni, which depicts that Agni is perceived through transformation.

In the human body, Agni transforms outside elements in a form recognizable and accepted by the body. Which means Agni transforms incompatible entities into compatible ones as identified by the body. It is also innumerable because of its presence in each and every entity of the human body.

Are Pitta and Agni the same? Pitta is unctuous, liquid, and has a tendency to migrate downward. Agni (fire) has a harsh, dry character that lacks moisture and moves upward by nature. Even from a therapeutic perspective, several medications have opposing effects on pitta and fire. Ghee has a pitta calming effect while enhancing fire.

Types of Agni in Humans

The 13 Agnis described by Charak can be accepted as all encompassing. Among the 13 Agnis, Jathar Agni is the main important Agni that controls the function of the 12 other Agnis, all the agnis are totally dependent on the status of Jathar Agni. It performs digestion of food and is also responsible for separation of the food material into the nutrition and the waste products in our body. Jathar Agni is also classified into 4 categories according to its performance of digestion in the human being:

  1. A healthy state- Sam Agni
  2. When Vata corrupts Agni- Visham Agni
  3. Pitta disruption- Tikshna Agni
  4. Kapha disruption- Mand Agni

Jathar Agni splits the food into the simpler substances for the 5 Bhut Agni later to digest their portion. Bhut AGni is the one that is present in a basic element. There are 5 Agnis in each of the basic elements: Parthiva, Aapah, Tejas, Vayu and Aakash. Dhatu Agni refers to the Agni present in each of the Seven Dhatus of Rasa, Rakta, Mamsa, Meda, Asthi, Majja, and Shukra.

The Ayurveda Experience

Agni Made Easy

Agni is responsible for digestion, metabolism, and all other bodily functions. It is the first step in the Agni Patha, or digestive process. Agni breaks down food into its simplest form so that the body can absorb it. without Agni, we would not be able to digest our food or extract nutrients from it.

Agni is also responsible for immunity. It helps to protect the body from disease by destroying harmful bacteria and viruses. Agni also helps to detoxify the body by removing toxins and waste products.

A healthy Agni is essential for good health. An imbalance in Agni can lead to many health problems, such as indigestion, fatigue, and disease. There are many ways to keep Agni healthy and balanced. Ayurvedic medicine recommends a diet that is easy to digest and full of fresh, whole foods. Avoiding processed foods, caffeine, and alcohol will also help to keep Agni healthy. Exercise and relaxation are also important for keeping Agni balanced.

If you are experiencing any digestive issues, be sure to consult with an Ayurvedic practitioner. Agni is the vital fire in Ayurveda and is essential for good health. By keeping Agni healthy and balanced, you can enjoy a lifetime of good health!

Special thanks to NLAM: National Library of Ayurveda Medicine for the reference materials and Dr. Sumit Kesarkar for discussing the topic very clearly. Don’t forget to subscribe to Organic Ayurveda Life for more ayurvedic related updates.

Scroll to Top